Camping in the rain

The first thought I had when opening my little tent was, “Where the hell is the fly?”. Oh well, I have what I have.

The ride to the park was stupendous highway 15 to 89 did not disappoint. 89 took 100 miles to skirt the edge of a nasty thunderstorm, and I figured that hotels near the park would be booked or expensive. So I camped at the Aspenwood Resort for 20$ which includes showers. They have cabins too but they were booked. After dinner with two guests who were a husband and wife, she is in the Foreign Service, and he is a Federal agent in protective Services, I made camp and hung out with three guys from Kalispell who were here crushing gravel for a nearby farmer. At the campground they were tuning their bows for elk season. I hung out while they shot from 20 and 30 yards occasionally asking a question and comparing notes on the weather in Montana and Washington.

After tucking into my tent flashes of lighting and deep rumblings of thunder bounced off the mountains. I quickly fell asleep as the rain began to sprinkle the tent. Morning found me dry and warm…. Glad I brought my down sleeping bag. It was nippy and with numb fingers I broke camp, made coffee and headed into the cold mountain air to find “The Road to the Sun”.

Leave a comment